Subscribe to Our Newsletter

The Relenta CRM blog

5 languages of customer love

"Keep calm and speak in tongues"

So you think you know how to love your customers? Maybe you do, but chances are they wouldn’t know that.

In his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, Gary Chapman postulates that there are five ways to express love, and each person has a preference as to how to receive it. The five categories are self-explanatory:

  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Quality time
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Acts of service
  5. Physical touch

Let’s say your significant other thinks you love her when you’re giving her gifts, but instead you just keep on touching her all the time. No wonder it ain’t goin’ nowhere.

The book’s companion site provides a rather elaborate testing framework so you and your loved ones can learn about each other’s languages and express yourselves accordingly.

That’s very nice and all, but it got me thinking. What if you’ve got thousands of loved ones? Your customers?

Statistically, some of them just wouldn’t feel your love no matter what you do. If that’s the case, stop and adjust. Try a different language.

Easy, peasy. We love all of y’all.

*/ ?>